Development Committee

Secures sponsors for mile markers, wayfinding and events; grows the Sustainer’s Circle of donors and planned giving; and ensures continued support of TART Trails to fulfill our mission and vision.

Members include: Sara Harding (chair), Kelley Peterson, Rick Simonton, Dr. Tom Auer, Kristi Hameedi, Jerry Jenkins, Casey Ressl

If you’re interested in learning more, please contact the TART Trails office at 231.941.4300 or

Safety & Operations Maintenance Committee

Strategically plans and applies best management practices for TART Trails’ infrastructure, assets and resources.

Members include: Mike Tarnow, Dick Naperala, Dave Fisher, Richard Kelley, Dave Monstrey, Jim Dombrowski, David Dean, David Edelstein, Chuck Percy, Eric Braverman, Chris Kushman

If you are interested in learning more, please contact Chris Kushman, Planning & Management Director at

Smart Commute Planning Committee

Promotes the use of alternative forms of transportation through collaboration with local businesses, governments and non-profit organizations to develop multi-modal infrastructure for active and healthy lifestyles.

Members include: Michele Howard, Rob Hanel, Ben Miller, Brittany Miller, Heather Halt, Meg Young, Eric Lingaur, Tyler Bevier, Stephanie Mathewson, Elizabeth Calcutt, Kate Lewis, Janna Goethel

If you’re interested in learning more, please contact Janna Geothel at

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

TART Trails Commitment to Equity and Inclusion

Members include: Ross Hammersley (chair), Meg Ackerman, Matt McDonough, Kate Lewis, Caitlin Early

If you’re interested in learning more, please contact Kate Lewis at